# Town of New Haven Town Caucus Tuesday, January 8, 2019

The Town Caucus for the Town of New Haven was called to order by Marv Prestrud, at the New Haven Town Hall on Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 7:30 pm.

Prestrud said he was hoping to be nominated so someone else would need to be appointed to act as the Caucus Chairperson. Motion by Mary Prestrud, second by Don Cormican, that Steve Duerst be appointed Caucus Chairperson. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Diane Duerst, second by Mark Bartz, that Jill Huber serve as one of the tellers to count ballots if needed. Motion carried unanimously. Motion by Mary Prestrud, second by Brian Loida, that Pam Cormican serve as one of the tellers to count ballots if needed. Motion carried unanimously.

#### The first position to be nominated was the Town Chairperson.

Jill Huber nominated Marv Prestrud for the position of Town Chairperson, seconded by Mark Bartz. Motion carried unanimously. Marv accepted the nomination.

No more nominations for Town Chairperson were offered so nominations for the office were closed.

# The next positions to be nominated were the two Town Supervisor positions.

Jill Huber nominated Tom Schoonover for the position of Town Supervisor, seconded by Rod Swenby. Motion carried unanimously. Tom accepted the nomination.

Mark Bartz nominated Brian Loida for the position of Town Supervisor, seconded by Ted Ulrich. Motion carried unanimously. Brian accepted the nomination.

Jill Huber nominated Jeff Carlsrud for the position of Town Supervisor, seconded by Laura Ulrich. Motion carried unanimously. Jeff accepted the nomination.

No more nominations for Town Supervisor were offered so nominations for the office were closed.

The Town Clerk position was changed from elected to appointed as a result of the referendum on the November 2018 ballot. The appointed clerk position will take effect on 4/16/19. No nominations were necessary for the clerk position.

# The next position for nomination was Town Treasurer.

Betsy Malean nominated Laura Ulrich for the position of Town Treasurer, seconded by Rod Swenby. Motion carried unanimously. Laura accepted the nomination.

Steve Duerst nominated Mark Bartz for the position of Town Treasurer, seconded by Brian Loida. Motion carried unanimously. Mark accepted the nomination.

No more nominations for Town Treasurer were offered so nominations for the office were closed.

As all nominees were present the clerk asked them all to see her after the meeting to receive the paperwork they were required to fill out and return to her (Declaration of Candidacy and Campaign Finance Registration Statement).

The caucus adjourned at 7:40 pm.

Diane Duerst New Haven Town Clerk

#### **Determination of Ballot Order**

1/14/19 Clerk Diane Duerst, in the presence of Steve Duerst, drew names to determine the ballot order for the Certification of Nomination for the positions of Town Supervisor and Town Treasurer.

Order on ballot for:

# **Town Chairperson**

#1 Mary Prestrud

# **Town Supervisors**

#1 Jeff Carlsrud

#2 Tom Schoonover

Brian Loida did not return the Declaration of Candidacy form or the Campaign Finance Registration Statement so he cannot be listed on the Certificate of Nomination.

# **Town Treasurer**

#1 Mark Bartz#2 Laura Ulrich

Dated 1/14/19:

Diane Duerst, Town Clerk

Witness:

Steve Duerst

Steve Duerst